Thursday 23 July 2015

County AGM

Nothing too eventful happened at last night's County AGM. The following is a brief summary of the salient points :
  • David Anderton and Roger Edwards, who are both retiring from chess organising duties, were given a vote of thanks for their years of unstinting service to the County.
  • The various Officer's reports were read and accepted. The main area of discussion arising from these reports was the future of the County Cups. It was agreed to attempt to run them again this coming season in the usual format, but if the level of interest is as low as last season then we will think about ideas for a new format before the competitions start. 
  • It was agreed that we would run an U160 team this year rather that an U140 team. However, we still need Captains for the Open and U160 teams as both David Anderton and Denis Nesbitt are standing down. Peter Evans and Robert West agreed to continue as Captains of the U120 and U100 teams respectively. 
  • All of the existing Officers were re-elected en bloc. 
  • Matthew Carr will be running next year's Staffordshire Congress as a FIDE rated event, with the winner qualifying for a place in the British Championship. Trophies were presented to Newcastle, Stafford and Cheddleton as winners of the various County Cups. Bob Perry of Meir collected the Withnall Trophy on behalf of Newcastle.
  • Bloxwich Junior Chess Club were presented with the trophy for Club Of The Year.
  • Andrew Leadbetter was presented with the trophy for Personality Of The Year.
  • Next year's AGM has been provisionally pencilled in for the w/c 13th June, depending on the availability of the large room at Stafford Chess Club.